2015 NorthWords Prize


  1. The Prize will be awarded for a book (not magazine articles or any other kinds of published materials).
  2. Books of any type are eligible: novels, children’s books, collections of short stories, poetry or essays, creative non-fiction, memoir.
  3. The book must be published in 2014.
  4. The book must deal with northern themes and settings.
  5. Books by the following are eligible: Authors who live in the NWT and have lived in the NWT for one year prior to the end of the year when the book is published; Authors who live in other parts of Canada but were raised and/or schooled in the NWT and maintain strong ties to the NWT.
  6. The winning book will be presented with a plaque and $1000 at the annual NorthWords Writers Festival in May.
  7. Books that have multiple authors are eligible but the prize will be $1000, regardless of the number of authors.
  8. Books will be judged by an independent panel of judges.
  9. To submit, please send two copies of your book to the following address before February 28, 2015: NorthWords Prize, c/o NorthWords NWT, Box 1256, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N9

*Please note that the NorthWords Writers Festival reserves the right to consider books that have not been submitted by their authors/publishers. It is, however, in the interests of authors/publishers to submit their books as we may not hear about them otherwise.

The NorthWords Prize is sponsored by De Beers Canada.

Previous Winners:

  • Myth of the Barrens by Bren Kolson (2010)
  • The Caribou Feed Our Soul by Pete Enzoe and Mindy Willett (2011)
  • Body Trade by Margaret Macpherson (2012)
  • NIGHTHAWK! by Jamie Bastedo (2013)
  • One of the most busiest ports in the North by Sandra Dolan (2014)